the108

Inside the mind of America’s (raunchy, foul mouthed, overly opinionated, sexually aggressive, incredibly offensive, fly by the minute, ridiculously absurd, often times erratic, psychologically questionable) Sweetheart.

shed-yule January 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — the108 @ 12:34 am

Well, it’s official: It’s gonna be a rough year and Dean and the kids and I are going to be needing some well wishes and some positive support. Today, I received this schedule of events for 2008 from Dean’s Commander and it took the air right out of me:

February

19-22 : Range week

15-29 : Range week recovery, possible long days

27–28: Company field problem

March

3-14: Battalion Field Exercise

18-22: Battalion Range week

April

3-18: Field exercise in Lewis and Yakima

21-25 – recovery week, possibly long days

May

5-16: Company exercise in Yakima

19-23: Battalion range week and recovery

June

7-22: Battalion exercise in Yakima

23-27: recovery week, possibly long nights

July

7-31: Equipment prep/load out

August

Block leave all month

September

Deployment to Mosul, Iraq

He’ll be gone for a few weeks out of every month until he leaves for Iraq. This sucks.

Dean’s deployment is for 15 months… a REALLY long deployment. Midway through, if we have the money, he’ll get two weeks of R&R to come visit us but that’s almost as hard because when they leave out again you know you still have the other half to go.

This deployment is going to be very hard because it’s going to be very lonely. I don’t know anyone here and I’m sort of isolated. I hope to god we have better contact than last time when they moved so often that they couldn’t communicate with us for weeks at a time.

Dean and I certainly have our issues but I really don’t want to lose him to this war. Last time, he came home from the desert addicted to meth amphetimes and with horrible depression that we are just now dealing with. He’s sober now and learning how to cope with things thanks to counseling and medication, but I fear 15 months in Iraq at this point is just asking for it. I can’t do another suicide attempt and I can’t do the folded flag routine, either.

Single motherhood is calling once again. Dean is going to miss Emi’s first birthday and so many other things.

September of 2008 to January of 2010…. it’s gonna be a looooong time until I sleep again.

 

18 Responses to “shed-yule”

  1. Bond Says:

    This is so hard to read my dear friend…

    You have so many friends now and we will rally around you and keep you sane…

    I will start with a huge HUG

  2. Susie PSU Says:

    This does indeed suck the big one. Thinking of you…

  3. Sparky Duck Says:

    *hugs* and I thought Yakima was the bad news

  4. Matt-Man Says:

    That’s rough Kyra. Good Luck to you guys. And Sparky, good one. Cheers!!

  5. Mr. Fabulous Says:

    Wow…that does indeed suck, hon.

    You know you can count on us. We’re all part of a big family.

  6. Anonymous Says:

    thinking of you Kyra, hang in there, i know this isnt going to be easy, i wish i were closer. im here if you need me….i can be a shoulder. im sorry Dean has to leave and for all the damn field problems too, WTF??!! just stay as strong as you can for your wonderful kiddos, hang in there, ill be thinking of you daily.
    Dotty

  7. Brian in Mpls Says:

    I wish I could give you all a big hug

  8. the108 Says:

    BOND: I prefer you start with a rimshot but a hug will do πŸ™‚

    SUSIE: Naked?

    SPARKY: Yakima, I can handle…LOL.

    MATTY: Shit… good luck to DEAN…LOL.

    MR. FAB: a family who has sex with each other?

    DOTTY: Thank you, babe… I know Harold has had two tours…. maybe you can give me much advice πŸ™‚

    BRIAN: I wish you could give me a rimshot but that’s just me.

  9. Anonymous Says:

    there isnt good advice when ur heart hurts,but i can try….DONT watch or read the news, try to occupy your mind. cry in the shower…no one can tell.hugs
    Dotty

  10. metalmom Says:

    Kyra, So sorry about the news. Emails and blog comments are always open to venting if you want.

    Thinking of you while I touch myself…

  11. the108 Says:

    DOTTY: Smooooch!

    METALMOM: Awesome!!!

  12. Anonymous Says:

    1.Liver
    2.Braces for my daughter,,and well a WII
    3.IDK

    Kyra,
    I am always up for a good talk if you are down when he is away.I am actually up for talking to you my love all the time but,,well you know that doesn’t happen.Anywho I am here.

  13. the108 Says:

    SHANNON: I know, my lovely… you are amazing and I love you πŸ™‚

  14. Mr. Fabulous Says:

    Incest? If that’s what you need, I’m here for you. I am always ready to fill the void if need be.

  15. Dee Says:

    1. Headcheese
    2. a haircut (sad, I know)
    3. Easter

    So sorry about this shitty news Kyra. I have no clue what military live is like, but I can only imagine it’s 100 times harder than anyone would guess.

  16. the108 Says:

    MR. FAB: This is exactly the sort of thing Dean needs to hear before deployment. I am sure he will rest at ease now…LOL.

    DEE: Thank you, darlin’. Come up here and we’ll go for a day at the spa… haircuts and mannies?

  17. EC Says:

    Oh no Kyra!!!!!

    Maybe something will change before then – maybe with the new President they will stop sending troops, or pull them out sooner – you just have to have hope!!

    (((HUGS)))

  18. TopChamp Says:

    sorry – good luck x


Leave a Reply

