the108

Inside the mind of America’s (raunchy, foul mouthed, overly opinionated, sexually aggressive, incredibly offensive, fly by the minute, ridiculously absurd, often times erratic, psychologically questionable) Sweetheart.

January 8, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — the108 @ 2:39 am

Inspired by the wonderful Bond, I have decided to do a music post for you all. In edition to Bond’s fantastic music posts, I’m also being inspired by a particularly bad day that I’ve had today and my need to force a little happiness into my brain to dilute the sadness that creeps up on me from time to time. Basically, in need of a distracting laugh, I turned to a very good friend, today… one of my favorite bands of all time and the musical medicine that always seems to save me just moments before I launch myself off a bridge. I’m trying to learn how to focus on the things that make me smile and these guys certainly help.

I believe that you can tell a lot about a person by the music that they love and if this is true then I have to wonder what this says about me. At any rate… I will share with you all a personal favorite of mine and by the end of this post, you may find that you have found yourself a guilty pleasure as well. I give you:

Tenacious D

Tenacious D is a band that is fronted by Jack Black and Kyle Glass and is backed on albums by Dave Grohl (Nirvana, Foo Fighters), Page McConnell (Phish), Warren Fitzgerald (The Vandals), and Steven Shane McDonald (Redd Cross).

Fuck the rest of those guys because the real magic of this band is it’s lead singer and guitarist, Jack Black who most people know as a movie star and I know as my secret lover of the night. Surprisingly talented as fuck, he is what brings lyrics and music together to make amazing masterpieces that crack me up and impress me at the same time.

Here is my personal favorite by Tenacious D… a song about love…

“Fuck Her Gently”

I think Jack Black is the sexiest man on the planet. Behind Johnny Depp. But seriously… a lot of women see him as being sort of a fat slob and fairly unattractive but I think he is gorgeous and sexy and smart and hilarious and for me, that makes MAN-MAGIC.

Whenever I’m down… which is a lot… and whenever I need a pick me up or a giggle or want to listen to some genuinely good music, it’s Tenacious D for me. This probably tells you all plenty about my character but spend some time listening to the songs posted below and then tell me you weren’t impressed and laughing your ass off. For me it cures the nasty diseases that fester in my brain. Have some fun and be sure to save some for your next psychotic episode/ emotional breakdown rainy day. Enjoy!

“Classico”

“Double Team”

“The History Of Tenacious D”

“Tribute To The Greatest Song In The World”

“Kickapoo”

“The Pick Of Destiny”

“Wonderboy”

“Master Exploder”

“Beezleboss (The Final Showdown)”

 

4 Responses to “”

  1. Julie Says:

    Oooh jack black! YAY!!

  2. Rocketstar Says:

    I hear ya, music can change my mood.

  3. Bond Says:

    I do like Tenancious D…

    Jack is a rock star…

    and – ah shucks…. ya likey my music…

    Gonna be ripping it up on Thursday …

  4. Kevin Says:

    I LOVE the Tribute To The Greatest Song In The World!

    I think the cartoon video for Fuck Her Gently is hysterical.


Leave a Reply

