the108

Inside the mind of America’s (raunchy, foul mouthed, overly opinionated, sexually aggressive, incredibly offensive, fly by the minute, ridiculously absurd, often times erratic, psychologically questionable) Sweetheart.

comfort foods October 3, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — the108 @ 5:16 pm

Everyone in the house is sick. The kids are sick and I’m sick. I hate being sick as I turn into whine-zilla.

I love cooking and I like REAL food. Especially when we’re not feeling well. I’m a big fan of sambitches and making things for parties and holidays and on the weekends, I usually like to try to make something yummy for the family, whether it is a big dinner or just some of my famous snackies.

With everyone being sick, it is the time to whip up some good old fashioned comfort foods and this weekend called for some quiche. I LOVE quiche and it comes only second to my love of souffle, which I find to be rather similar only more of a pastry. But quiche is fucking delicious, especially when your not feeling very well and it’s so easy to make that you don’t feel like your’re busting your ass in the kitchen. I figured I’d share my basic quiche recipes for some of you sniffling giblets as well.

I like to make more than one quiche at a time, basically, because it’s just as easy to do a couple of them as it is to make one. Either make a couple of pie crusts or go and buy some if you don’t want to deal with the extra bullshit. Bake your pie crusts at 350 degrees for just a few minutes and then let them cool.

In the bottom of the pie crusts you put your ingredients… whatever kind of quiche you like. In one of mine, I keep it simple and add a cup of shredded cheese and some finely chopped onion. I usually add some cooked and crumbled bacon to that one as well. In the other one I may put some spinach, onion, artichokes and shredded Gruyere cheese.

The filling is really simple. Take about four eggs per quiche and whip them up with a cup and a half of half and half and add some salt, pepper and if you like, ground nutmeg or a little bit of smoky cayenne pepper. Whip it up until it’s nice and smooth and frothy and then just pour it over the cheese and other junk at the bottom of the pie crusts. But for TWO quiches you have to use 8 eggs and 3 cups of half and half. Just so I don’t confuse you because it’s wicked simple.

Once you pour the egg mixture over the ingredients, they’ll sort of float up off the bottom. Put them on a cookie sheet and bake them in a preheated oven for about forty to fifty minutes or until they are set and the consistency of a pumpkin pie. Then, take them out and enjoy the creamy goodness.

I made so much quiche on Sunday that we couldn’t eat it all and so I took a steaming pie downstairs to the single father who lives below us. He’d never had quiche before and I had to sort of tell him what was in it… that one was cheese, bacon and onion. He said he’d give it a try and then he and his two boys ate the whole thing in about ten minutes which was hilarious and pretty impressive because quiche can be rich. But it’s an excellent and easy comfort food for the fall and winter months when you’ve got the sniffles or a sore throat and want something tasty and delicious to munch on. Now, every time he sees Dean he says, “Man, that stuff your wife brought us was GOOOOD!” Anyone who cooks loves to hear that someone enjoys it and his boys loved it, too. That makes me happy to help out a single father.

And that is my comfort food of the day. Try it out if you’ve never had it or made it but don’t ever buy one already made from the grocery because they tend to be gritty and disgusting.

Bon Appe-tittie!

 

8 Responses to “comfort foods”

  1. Dixiechick Says:

    Oh that looks really yummy… Quiche is one of my favorite comfort foods too …

    Hope everyone gets to feeling better real soon.

    SMOOCHES~

  2. Bond Says:

    OK, I will admit I like ’em sometimes…but I make mine with gentleman jack and not eggs and they never set…what am i doing wrong?

  3. Susie PSU Says:

    As soon as I am off my food study and can eat what I want to eat, I am MAKING this. Do you ever whip the eggs and half-and-half in a blender, or just whisk it?

  4. Jodi Says:

    oh kyra now i am wanting a quiche!!! i had an awesome one at a cafe — smoked salmon!! omg it was to die for!!!!
    anyhow maybe i should come babysit and you can cook me food! lol

  5. Starrlight Says:

    Dahlink you must try one with fake crab meat, onion, and chives. I like Gruyere on that one!

  6. Colette, aka Lil Sis Says:

    mmmm yummy! I love quiche! I haven’t had one in a long time! How bout this, you and Dean-o and the gang move to SC, or we’ll move to WA (even better) I can babysit all rugrats and we can cook and hang out and bs all day while the men work. Then when they get home, they eat, we drink, and all munchkins go to bed. 😉

  7. Brian in Mpls Says:

    Damn you make good quiche

  8. the108 Says:

    DIXIE: Me, too!!!

    BONDAGE: Um. Yeah. I think maybe your problem is glaringly obvious…LOL.

    SUSIE: I just wisk it. You may not want to overdo it..lol.

    JODI: It’s a deal!!!!

    STARR: Mmmm… that sounds yummy. Like a crab rangoon quiche. Mmm.

    COLETTE: shall we have sex?

    BRIAN: But how is the flavor?


Leave a Reply

