the108

Inside the mind of America’s (raunchy, foul mouthed, overly opinionated, sexually aggressive, incredibly offensive, fly by the minute, ridiculously absurd, often times erratic, psychologically questionable) Sweetheart.

Today’s Topic of Debate July 20, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — the108 @ 10:49 pm

I have been giving this some thought and I figgered I’d open it up for debate with my readers.

Bear with me if it seems to make little sense at first. I’ll start it by asking a question:

Do you think it is acceptable to charge and punish someone because you think that they may one day commit a crime?

Meaning, do you think Joe Schmoe should be tried and given the death penalty because people speculate that he is a danger and might one day do harm to someone else?

If your answer is yes….
-why?
-Explain why you feel this way.

If your answer is no….
– Does this somehow change your political views about the War in Iraq?
– Does this mean that it is wrong to protect yourselves by eliminating those who have the potential to be a danger to us?

Explain and discuss….

 

3 Responses to “Today’s Topic of Debate”

  1. ian Says:

    I don’t think it’s acceptable to charge someone who is not suspected of committing a crime, and I don’t think it’s acceptable to punish someone who has not been convicted in a court of law.

    That being said, I hope Michael Vick gets his salad tossed every day in Federal Pound-me-in-the-ass Prison. I know he’s innocent until proven guilty, but I’m betting it’ll be a really short trial.

    So to answer your original question, no I don’t think it’s acceptable. It doesn’t change my political views about the war in Iraq. I think it’s a stupid, unwinnable war.

    On the other hand, I don’t think it’s wrong to protect ourselves either. But the best defense isn’t necessarily a good offense either. Couldn’t we just have sent in Chuck Norris and Delta Force to take out the bad guys and then had the CIA conduct its own coup?

    Ian

  2. Carol Anne Says:

    Here’s the ultimate non-answer: didn’t Tom Cruise make a movie about this topic?

    You know, we all have the ability to do harm — and sometimes what is harm to one is not harm to another. I have no answers, I just try not to be an irrational jackass.

    Stop making me think so hard. It’s been a long week at work.

  3. jolie-jordan Says:

    Kyra,
    The answer is on my bog. It ended up too long for here.
    xxxjolie


Leave a Reply

