the108

Inside the mind of America’s (raunchy, foul mouthed, overly opinionated, sexually aggressive, incredibly offensive, fly by the minute, ridiculously absurd, often times erratic, psychologically questionable) Sweetheart.

Manic Monday–Heat. June 18, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — the108 @ 7:52 am

I’ve always been fascinated by certain certain cultures especially those of the Aborigines, Native Americans and Inuits. I love and respect how they had to do things without any of the modern day conveniences and technology.

I’ve read a lot about the Australian Aborigines and I have become in awe of the simple things that they did to survive. One of those things has turned into a common phrase that people use called a three dog night.

I heard this saying or term so many times growing up but I never knew where it came from or what the hell it meant. Then, I stumbled upon it’s meaning in a book I read many years ago.

A three dog night is how the Aborigines measured how cold it was. When they slept, they would use the warmth of their dogs to supply them with heat, having the dogs curl up at their sides through the cold nights. The colder it was, the more dogs came to them to heat their bodies…. a three dog night was pretty chilly.

How simple. How intimate. How resourceful and innovative. They didn’t have heaters or large, heavy blankets as they were nomadic and had to carry as little as possible, often relying on the earth and their animals and each other to get through.

I imagine what it must be like to not have my warm bed and the walls keeping out the wind. I imagine what those freezing nights in the Outback must have been like, the darkness and silence and your only comfort being the soft, furry, warm bodies of the dogs… their breathing felt at your legs, slow and comforting.

I love human beings and animals teaming together to beat nature at it’s game. I love the idea of them needing each other, relying on each other for survival. Dog warms human, human warms dog and they become a little pocket of heat on an otherwise chilly night.

 

5 Responses to “Manic Monday–Heat.”

  1. jolie-jordan Says:

    I heard it was Mexicans that had the 3 dog night thing. I wondered about that given their temps down there. (LOL)
    Still, how warm could 3 Chihuahuas keep a person? Kinda like a large rodent. (A 3-Rat night)..uck!
    You are right about people adapting and finding ways to survive. I still marvel at people living in ice houses.
    I marvel at your Emi being born with tats on her feet. (smile) and dimples too. I left you a message on that post too.
    You sound tired but excited too. Try to get some rest. luck to you and your little family. I cannot believe that Matthew in the delivery. I probably would have loved it if I could have witnessed a birth at that age. You may end up with a son who becomes an OBGYN doctor. How cool would that be?
    xxxJolie

  2. Empress Bee (of the High Sea) Says:

    good post honey. i like to learn something early in the morning they i can (fuck) off the rest of the day! ha ha ha

    smiles, bee

  3. TopChamp Says:

    I’ve never heard the term before but it’s a great story.

  4. The109 Says:

    Once again you came up with an interesting and thoughtful idea for your manic monday post. I love that you think about those kinds of things and express them so well. Love Ya!

  5. Thomas Says:

    I don’t believe it. Empress said, “fuck”.


Leave a Reply

