the108

Inside the mind of America’s (raunchy, foul mouthed, overly opinionated, sexually aggressive, incredibly offensive, fly by the minute, ridiculously absurd, often times erratic, psychologically questionable) Sweetheart.

Weekend Update May 27, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — the108 @ 4:22 am

I wish there was some kind of an explanation for this good mood I’ve been in lately, but there isn’t. I’m thinking that maybe the visiting of my friends last week jolted a little bit of the old me back into my system. At any rate, I’m feeling good.

On Thursday, I had another Dr.’s appointment and it went pretty well. While I was there, I was ambushed by a social worker who wanted to talk to me about Dean’s situation at work, a situation we still don’t know what will happen with. The social worker came in and I immediately told her that I didn’t want to hear any bad news and that I was looking forward to my four day weekend with my family and didn’t want to be thrown into a panic. She was very agreeable to that and it wasn’t awful.

Today, the kids went to Lowe’s to make race cars at one of their children’s workshops. I was surprised at how well it went, how much they like it and how great their cars looked. They were given pieces of wood and sandpaper and had to sand each piece down before nailing all the parts together. All three of them completed their cars without help, even Olivia! They were given aprons and safety goggles and patches top sew to their aprons and certificates of accomplishment…. they loved it and can’t wait to go back for the next project: Making picture frames. I promised them that I would take and develop some good pictures to put in their frames and they’re very excited.

By the middle of the afternoon, I could tell that Dean-o was needing a break from the kids and so I suggested to him something that seemed to shock him. I asked him if he would like to go out by himself for a couple of hours and do some shopping for the baby. You could see his jaw drop at this suggestion and I was afraid he’d think it was stupid, but instead, he seemed excited about it. This is my fourth pregnancy and he has NEVER shopped by himself for baby stuff. He’s been with me to shop, but he never had much of a say in what we bought.

So… off he went after expressing much intrigue in the fact that I was trusting him enough and allowing him to pick things out by himself. Four hours later, he returned, quite pleased with himself. And… he should be! He did a great job and picked out some very cute stuff. He also pretty much squared this baby away on the onesie issues and the pants and shorts and he made sure to buy things that matched and layered together. The baby is all set and anything else we buy will just be because we felt like it. T-shirts and some more jammies and we’re good to go.

What I found very endearing was that before he left, I told him, “don’t get any baby towels or any of that nonsense because we never use them.” Then, he came home with a bath set and when I asked about it he replied,

“Well, it was CUTE! And… it came with a toy.”

Dean says that he enjoyed baby shopping a lot and that he was feeling very excited about Emi coming as a result. I’m really glad. As far as I’m concerned, he can do all the shopping from now on.

This evening, I asked the kids to sit down and watch my favorite movie of all time with me: Edward Scizzorhands. I love that movie so much and the kids loved it, too. In fact, I have Matthew willing to be Edward for Halloween so I’m all giddy. Now, they are bathed and getting in bed and both Dean and I are looking forward to a quiet night alone.

Blissful.

 

One Response to “Weekend Update”

  1. Dotty Says:

    awe how sweet!! good job Dean!!! now about that lowe’s project thing, how did you learn about it? whats the cost? i wonder if they do any here…ill check into it. glad your weekend is going so well.


Leave a Reply

