the108

Inside the mind of America’s (raunchy, foul mouthed, overly opinionated, sexually aggressive, incredibly offensive, fly by the minute, ridiculously absurd, often times erratic, psychologically questionable) Sweetheart.

Happy Feet May 12, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — the108 @ 4:48 am

Tonight I got to finally see the movie I have been waiting forever to see. I saw a preview in the theaters for the movie Happy Feet sometime last year and I knew that I was going to HAVE to see it. My intentions were to go see it on the big screen, but I never found the time but now that it’s out on DVD, I got to sit at home and enjoy it.

I’ve always told people that the most important children’s book out there is The Giving Tree, partly because of it’s many messages and also the controversy behind it. It seems coincidental that after watching Happy Feet, I can honestly say that I find it to be the one children’s movie I have ever seen that I feel is very important for everyone to see. The controversy behind the film is fascinating to me and I wonder if all great things are just controversial. Period.

To a kid watching Happy Feet, it’s probably just a movie about cute penguins that has great music, funky dancing and silly voice overs.

To an adult, the movie is a learning experience with lots of lessons woven throughout. What the children probably miss is the valuable, yet hot topics of politics, religion, environmental issues, human and animal rights, culture, acceptance, diversity, passion and love. Most importantly, it is about balance.

Happy Feet shows us a lot about fear and pressure to be a certain way, believe in certain things and follow leadership that doesn’t always know best. The movie clearly depicts political parties and religious sects all the while throwing in a vast majority of different cultural characters. It shows us how people can feel guilted into thinking certain ways and how they give up their emotional freedoms.

It is not a movie about penguins.

By the end of the movie you realize that the message is that we all must find a balance. Everything must work together or it won’t work at all. It’s about unity and strength in acceptance.

I wanted to see this movie because the dancing was done by Savion Glover, the greatest tap dancer in the world, and I dig him a lot. I knew that there would be a lesson involving accepting people for who they are but I had no idea I was getting into this.

I don’t want to give anything away with the story and plot, so I will just recommend that anyone who hasn’t seen it, take an evening to watch and enjoy.

 

3 Responses to “Happy Feet”

  1. EC Says:

    I’ve been trying to see this movie forever, but have yet to do so…

    AND – OMG – The giving tree is MY personal all time favorite book, and I bought it for my son and read it at least 3 times a week. I still cry when the tree is all alone and old, lol.

  2. Empress Bee (of the High Sea) Says:

    wow, i just thought it was a children’s movie so i never gave it a glance. will rent it soon! thanks…

    smiles, bee

  3. Fallen Star Says:

    I shared the movie with 2 grade 8 classses and they loved it. As you said, it has a wealth of issues to face and discuss.


Leave a Reply

