the108

Inside the mind of America’s (raunchy, foul mouthed, overly opinionated, sexually aggressive, incredibly offensive, fly by the minute, ridiculously absurd, often times erratic, psychologically questionable) Sweetheart.

Darth Reno-Vader February 16, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — the108 @ 8:10 pm

My boys have always had a pretty bad ass bedroom. They have these great wooden bunkbeds and then I decorated the whole room to look very “beachy”. They got Hawaiian print curtains, bedding and tiki furniture, shadow boxes full of sand and seashells… it’s pretty neat.

Olivia has never really had any kind of theme to her room. Recently, we got her a new bed and packed up the crib to be saved for baby #4 and with her new bed, I felt that she needed the room completed.

It’s no where near completed, but I’ve done a lot of work this past week.

Her bed is a cherry wood with very earthy bedding in sage greens, pale pinks and rose colors. The dresser she has we received from a friend who had painted it to match her kids’s room which was dark green and dark purple. I started by sanding that baby down and repainting it to match the green in her room:

Here is the old one:

After I painted it the sage green, I bought new handles for the drawers. Here is the finished product:

After doing the dresser, I had work to do on her toy bin. The toy bin was natural wood and had never been stained or painted… but it had been colored on with permanent marker and crayons. So, I sanded that down, too and then stained it to match her bed. The old toy box had also been missing some of it’s lid. I’m not sure why, but we decided to fix that as well. Off to Lowe’s with the old lid to have them cut a matching piece to fit the open space and after sanding, staining and re-hinging… it was done. This is the old one:

And here is the new one after I renovated it:

The last and final thing I have to do is get some stuff up on the walls. I have about six canvases and I have decided to paint on them some of the designs that are in her sheets and bedset.

There are six canvases and six prominent things in the bedset: A snail, a mushroom, a butterfly, and a few different flowers. So, each canvas will be painted with one of those things in matching colors. It’ll be fun. I’m going to start it on Sunday since tomorrow is Olivia’s second birthday….

WOO HOO!!!!

She is very excited 🙂 Me, too. My baby is growing up. Hopefully, her new bedroom will be enjoyed for a long time once it is completed. My mother, although a tremendous bitch, worked really hard to give us all nice things. I want to do the same for my kids and I really like to make costumes,sew curtains,decorate bedrooms… things that show them that I care. And if she destroys it after all my hard work I will be forced to hand her her ass.

The little blonde one does not stand a chance against Darth Reno-Vader.

 

2 Responses to “Darth Reno-Vader”

  1. JustMeTalking Says:

    Wow, it looks GREAT !

  2. EC Says:

    It all looks so great, you did some good work there!!!


Leave a comment